top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBarik Williams

Why I Became A Personal Trainer...

Hey!

Hope you are enjoying my blogs so far 😊. I Really appreciate you taking the time to read them!

I think it’s time to introduce myself to those that don’t know me and or new to my journey.

First, those of you that don’t know me, my name is Barik Williams. Born in Illinois, raised in Milwaukee, WI. I am happily married to my beautiful wife for 4 years now, a 3-year-old son and a crazy boxer dog.

If you haven’t already, follow me on Instagram! …Quick plug…

How did I get to this point?

Let’s take it back to my college years. I’ve been playing football my whole life and had the amazing opportunity to play college football. I didn’t develop the love of working out and being in the gym until I got to college. I also didn’t understand the importance of working out, training your body, and eating right until college as well. I sometimes wish I could go back and get a degree in Exercise Science instead of what I went for, but everything worked out.
Once I was done with college football, I took the time to enjoy my last semester of college. I partied almost every day, ate like crazy and had some fun. I gained about 20-25 pounds. I even tried to work out during that time and try out for semi-pro football. That didn’t last because I didn’t understand the importance of eating right and working out.

Now at the time, during the middle to end of my senior year, I was dating this girl; Don’t worry, that girl is now my wife lol; When I graduated college, she moved down to Arizona. I later followed her to the desert state. During her time there she was doing Herbalife and was with a group of people who were working out. For those of you that don’t know Herbalife, it is a nutrition company. Been around for like 30+ years.

When I moved there, I noticed the results she got and noticed a lot of the people she was with and the results they had too. My girlfriend was down 20-25 pounds, and most of her friends were as well. I wanted to get the same results, I wanted to get back to how I was when I was playing college football.

So, I decided to join Herbalife and worked out with her group. Learning about nutrition, working out and applying that, I immediately saw results. I would work out twice a day, go hiking, be very active but also eating correctly. I felt great!

I had the opportunity to show others how to do the same. I wanted to show people how to get the results they want and feel great about themselves. I would post a lot on social media about what I was doing and had a lot of people reach out to me for help.

That’s where it happened. That’s where my passion began.

Helping people with their health and fitness goals. I had people asking about workouts, but I wasn’t confident in giving workouts because of my knowledge on how to structure them. I knew how to work out because of what I’ve done, but that doesn’t work for most people.

What was next for me was to learn about how to create workout plans.

Fast forward a year…

I am in Chicago and had a job at LA Fitness as a Personal Training Consultant. At that job I learned how to talk to people about their goals and learned how to set up assessments. I also learned how to sell certain training plans (which I hated). Overall, the experience working at LA Fitness has showed me a lot.

I had the opportunity to work with this one personal trainer there and I would always pick his brain. He told me to get certified with LA Fitness, but at the time I really didn’t like the job so didn’t want to make that commitment. I would just continue to post about my workouts, Herbalife, and nutrition.

Fast forward another year…

I have continued to use social media to share what I do, but now I have started doing group workouts in Minnesota. One of my favorite things to do was group workouts in the park. I created a workout called “Rise Up Saturdays”, which was a HIIT format workout, while doing that I would research different certification programs.

I found a certification called ACE. So I began that and within 6 months I was a newly certified personal trainer.

From then until now I have been helping people with their health and fitness goals. It has not been easy, but I’ve enjoyed it!

So, in summary, I’d like to thank my wife, Arizona, and Herbalife for starting this passion.
It has been my goal to help as many people as I can.

Continue to follow me on this journey. As always, if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to reach out!

What you get with me as your trainer:
· Fun and simple yet challenging workouts
· Accountability and understanding
· Adaptability
· Passionate
· Positivity and will push you

Talk to you soon,
BW Fitness



P.S.
I am here to help you with your health and fitness goals!
Check out my website: www.bwfitness.training
Fill out my ‘Client Questionnaire’ and let’s talk about your goals and how I can help you!
Follow me on Instagram: @bw.fit.life


11 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page