top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBarik Williams

Short on Time? Here are 3 ways to make your workout more effective!

BW Fitness here! Back again with another blog. Let’s keep it going!


Before I begin, I just want to say that there really is zero theme or pattern to these blogs.


It’s all about what I feel like talking about and what my clients have questions about that would turn into great content. Also like to talk about what YOU ask on social media.


So, these blogs will be all over the place, but I am excited to give you more information on certain topics!


Ok, I like to get straight to the point because I know some of you won’t read all of this. I try not to make it too long and drop as many nuggets as I can.


Here are 3 ways you can make your workout more effective with little amount of time.


A lot of us are short on time when trying to work out. You may only have 20-30 minutes before you have to get your kids ready for school, head to work, or make a big family dinner.


Grab your weights (it’s ok if you don’t have any!), mat, towel, and water and let’s get started!


1. Tempo


Aka the rhythm to your reps


So really, it’s just the number of seconds you spend during a movement of an exercise. It’s all about moving slowly and under control.


For example, SQUAT


Go slow all the way down. About 3-5 second count when going down. You can pop back up or pause for a second at the bottom of your squat.

This will give you maximum BURN with your muscles and help with muscle endurance. You can do this with any exercise!


2. Supersets


Supersets are a great way to fit in multiple exercise moves in a short period of time. It’s alternating sets of two different exercises with no rest in between.

Back-to-Back.


Example:

Pushups – Superset w/ Crunches


You will start with doing pushups and once done, immediately go to crunches. Take your break after the 2nd exercise.

Add supersets throughout your workout for quick but effective results!


3. HIIT workouts


Those of you that know me know I love HIIT workouts.


HIIT = High Intensity Interval Training


It involves short periods of intense exercise alternated with recovery periods. A great way to burn calories and increase your heart rate.


HIITs can be used as a main workout or as a finisher. No equipment needed and can be done anywhere.


HIITs have a few formats to choose from:

30:30 – 30 seconds of work, 30 seconds of rest.

50:20

45:20

30:10


Example – You have a list of workouts

Push ups

High knees

Jumping jacks

Squats


If you are doing a 30:30 format, you will do first move for 30 seconds and then rest for 30 seconds. Keep the same structure until you finish all the moves. Once done, that will be 1 round. Do 3-5 rounds resting 1 minute between each round.


There are a plethora of other things you can do when short on time but start with these 3 and you will be good!


See you next time!


What should I talk about next? Comment below!


BW Fitness



P.S.


I am here to help you with your health and fitness goals!

Check out my website: www.bwfitness.training

Fill out my ‘Client Questionnaire’ and let’s talk about your goals and how I can help you!

Follow me on Instagram: @bw.fit.life




12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page