top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBarik Williams

Building A Better Relationship With Your Food

Are you someone that uses food as a punishment? Or when bored or stressed, you revert to eating?


We all have been through it. Some of us are still going through it.


Before you can fully start to build a better relationship with your food, you must understand WHY you have a bad relationship. What are some of the things you notice when eating?


- You feel guilty about eating.
- You avoid certain foods
- You eat until you are fully stuffed
- You feel stressed when eating out in public because you fear what others may think of you


Take sometime to think about it and write down some of those things.


Now, before I go further, just want to say that I am not a registered dietitian. I am not giving you specific meal plans or anything like that. I am only speaking on experience and what I’ve seen my clients go through. These are just simple tips that you can do to help build a better relationship with your food.


Ok, done with my disclaimer lol

With working on this process, you should know, like all other relationships it’ll take time, effort, patience and practice!

Having a great relationship with food is different for everyone. And don’t compare your relationship to others! But it is also difficult to know what that is and what it feels like.


To me, here are some things to know what a healthy relationship looks like:


- Enjoying the foods you love and understanding the benefits of the important foods and what it does to your body

- Example protein: understanding that your body needs it to build muscle

- Carbs are needed!

- Let go the guilt or shame of eating certain food

s

- Listening to your body - eat when hungry, don’t eat to full.


These are just a few items that help me. Like I said, it’ll be different for everyone.


Here are 3 things that I think can help you start to build a better relationship with your food.


1. Balance

Having a healthy balance of foods is important. I talk about 80/20 rule a lot.

80% of your nutrition should be healthy foods/calories like:


- Protein; lean protein

- Tons of veggies

- Fruit

- Carbs and complex carbs

- Lots of water


20% will be the foods you love

- Cookies and ice cream

- Chocolate

- Other junk food

- Fast food


Now you must understand and get good at the 80% but as long as you do that and stay in your calorie deficit then you will be good!


Side note: not sure on what a calorie deficit is, check out my first article!

Balance is key to a healthy relationship with your food. Never follow a strict diet. Unless you want to be a body builder or in a physique competition.


Keep track of your food with a food diary/journal.


3. Let go of the “cheat” meal


Stop making a day or a single meal to allow yourself to eat whatever you want. You’re making an excuse. This allows yourself to binge eat and will eventually give up and or overindulge for multiple days.


Balance, flexibility and moderation.


Be patient with yourself


No one’s perfect.

Like I said before. This process will take time and will be hard. Keep consistent and keep track.


Stop worrying about what others are doing .

Create balance and flexibility and you will start to gain a good relationship with your food.


A great resource that I like using to get my nutrition answers:

Hope you enjoyed this blog!

Talk to you soon!



P.S.


As always, I am here to help you with your health and fitness goals!


Check out my website for more information


Fill out my ‘Client Questionnaire’ and let’s talk about your goals and how I can help you!


Follow me on Instagram: @bw.fit.life

7 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page